This is the website for sports and clubs based at Karaka Community Event Centre and Karaka Sports Park.

 About Karaka Cricket Club

Karaka Cricket Club is affliated with Karaka Community Event Centre @ Karaka Sports Park on Blackbridge Road, Karaka (approx. 5 minutes from the Papakura off ramp on the Southern motorway). 

The Club is affiliated to the Counties-Manukau Cricket Association and caters for all Junior and Senior Grades, has two artificial pitches, a grass wicket block, three practice nets, a bowling machine, slips cradle and two crazy catches for the use of members.

The Karaka Community Event Centre clubhouse is available for the convenience of all cricket players and their families. Food and refreshments are also available most days. We look forward to seeing you at our Club! Have a wonderful cricket season!

Feb 2021
Karaka Sports Park Development update
Progress is being made on the final design plan for Resource Consent application.

Karaka Cricket Club extends its thanks to the Karaka Sports Park Trustees - Roger McRae, Steve Gellert, Ross Davison, Roger Wark, Christine Fletcher, Wayne Kidd, Stephen Stafford-Bush and Ian Duncan for their sterling efforts in working and progressing with Council on behalf of the Karaka Community.

History of Karaka Cricket Club

The club initially started as a junior only club in 1984. 

One year later in 1985 the club as we now know it was formed with the first senior team being a B Grade Competition team. 

A Senior A team was fielded in 1987 with the arrival of most of the Rosehill College 1st XI and so started the strong bond between Karaka Cricket Club and Rosehill College Cricket players.  This bond continues today and now with the inclusion of Strathallan most of our senior players come from these two colleges, along with our own strong junior club.

Over the past thirty three years the club has had many age group and senior Counties Manukau representative players, also Northern Districts and National representatives. The highest achievement (so far) being Richard deGroen and Blair Pocock who both played for New Zealand in 1993 and current All Black Captain Kieran Read.

Murray Napier - Patron

2010 Celebrating 25 years of Cricket in Karaka

The Club held it's 25th Anniversary celebration on the weekend of 20/21 March 2010.

On behalf of the Club thank you to Murray Napier, Murray Beare, Simon Beare and Lesley Kidd who headed the Organising Committee.

A great night was had by all!


Steven Herkt

Matthew Lucas

Maurice Ward

Todd McDonald

Simon Beare

Grant Beare

Mark Langford

Richard De Groen

Arthur Ward

Keiran Reid

Lance Hamilton

Sam Kett